Neighborhood, with a capital “N”

Standard

When my parents were married, May 24, 1986, they began to build a house. It was completed in October of that same year and by the time I came along in May 1988, they were well settled. From the day they brought me home from the hosiptal, until August 19th 2006, that is the only house I ever called home. Not many people can say that, at least not anymore. But from August 2006 to today, I have moved 11 times. Most of these were very small moves across campus from one dorm to another, but they still involved packing up everything I owned and relocating. Now that I am married, I want to settle and be able to provide Micah with the kind of stable childhood I had. But I don’t know if that will ever happen.

I find myself reluctant to get involved or build relationships because I don’t know how long we will be living here. And the weird thing is, I have no reason to feel this way. One, we have no plans to move, and two, this is the same community that I myself grew up in, so you would think it would be easy for me to fit in, get involved and get to know people. But, for some reason, I just don’t feel settled. Maybe it’s a result of renting, or perhaps it is God’s way of telling me that He has something else planned for us, I don’t know. What I do know is that I want to get involved, build relationships and “settle down” at least for now.

One way I am trying to start doing this is by starting a babysitting co-op. I want to develop the kind of friendships that make a neighborhood, a Neighborhood, full of people who really know and care for each other and hopefully provide a safe and lovingI environment for Micah to grow up in with close friends and other adults we can trust. After all it takes a village…

Leave a Reply

