Serving God, running, diapers, ipads and rolling over

Standard

So, here is an eclectic post about recent happenings in the White household.

Serving God:

Christian and I have been really convicted recently about our lacsidaisical prayer life. We have never really made a point to pray together on a regular basis and lately, neither of us have been praying much on our own either. We have been feeling rather lost for a while; searching for purpose and trying to figure out where God is calling our family to serve. In other words, we feel like we are just existing and not doing anything to make a difference. Two Sundays ago we attended Stony Hill Baptist Church for the first time and loved it! I was comfortable leaving Micah in the nursery (really big deal!), the people were friendly and welcoming and we both felt the Sunday School lesson and sermon were written just for us. (Joshua 1 and Ecclesiastes 1) After that I attended a ladies bible study, which I wrote about and again, I felt welcomed and comfortable. The book and discussion were very relevent in my life and only served to convict me more about my lack of relationship with God. I feel that I have gotten into a rut of performing and not worshiping. Obedience is more than just not sinning…a lot more.

So, Christian and I have started doing a devotional together: “A Call to Die” by David Nasser. It is gritty and asks some tough questions while leaving you no room for excuses. We are also making a point to pray together at least once a day and I have started praying over Micah, out loud, when I put him to bed.  I am also doing an Inductive Bible study by Kay Arthur studying the pentateuch. Christian is going through “Solo” a one year long devotional which uses The Message. I already have noticed some subtle changes in how we are relating to one another. Since we are going through “A Call to Die” together and discussing all of the questions  out loud it has opened up some doors of communication that we needed to open. The book asks some very personal questions which has required us to really confess our sins and weaknesses to each other and God; a humbling and bonding experience.

We have spent a long time saying, “What does God want from our family?” We have tossed around ideas of graduate school, military service, seminary, serving over-seas, adoption/fostering and many others, some of which we have seriously persued, only to come up short either because of finances, God not opening the door or lack of serious interest. So we go through the daily grind, doing the same-old-same old and not committing to anything. I still don’t know what the big picture is for our family, but I do know that if we serve Him and make Him the focus of our little, everyday decisions, we will be serving Him. It is stupid of us to sit around waiting for a booming voice from Heaven to tell us to move to Africa, enlist or enroll. We have His Word right in front of us, why not just do what it says and wait and see how He decides to use us?

Running:

Starting this week, Christian and I are training to run a Half Marathon. However, I am the laziest person ever and seriously lack motivation, so we are starting by training for a 5k, then a 10k, then the half. I have a nicely typed out spreadsheet with all of our workouts planned for the next 20 weeks (!). Today was day 4 and, surprisingly enough, I’m really excited with how things are going! My goal is simply to finish the distance and (hopefully) lose 20-30lbs of baby weight in the process.

Diapers:

I just received an order of 16 Kiwaii cloth diapers and I am super exicted about them! The price was excellent and the reviews were encouraging, now I just have to finish pre-washing them so I try them out for myself. 🙂

iPads:

We bought one.

Rolling Over:

Micah rolled from his back to his belly for the first time this morning. He has done it twice today, but he wasn’t very happy about it. 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

