Settled At Last

Standard

Finally! …that must be what all my readers are saying after such a long gap between posts. At least, that is what they would be saying, if I had readers who noticed the long gap between posts….Oh, well!

 

We are more or less settled into the new, old house. (New to us but built in the 60’s.) It has been quite a journey with many ups and downs, (and we still have water problems!), but we are enjoying being back close to the city. The first thing I did upon returning was to renew my Tae Kwon Do training and I am loving it. My husband, likewise, began training for the first time and is always asking me questions about technique and form and timing, etc. We are hoping to get a stoop built on the side of the house and fence in the back yard for our girls, this weekend. There is still one bedroom that needs to be unpacked and organized, but the majority of the house is put together the way we want it. I am planning on getting some chickens as soon as we get the fence up. Also, I have been riding my horses some and trying to get in the habit of grooming them regularly. They deperately need the exercise and grooming. The farrier is coming next week and I hope they behave, but both of them have cracks in their hooves which need to be fixed before they can be ridden much.

Between the house and all the work on the well we have been doing, I haven’t had as much time as I had hoped to spend on my hobbies. I have completed a quilt top this month and just need to baste and quilt it. I plan on sending it to my Great-grandmother for her birthday in October. I have also cut the fabric for a quilt for my nephew and was even able to make progress on a king size quilt I started peicing 4 years ago and haven’t yet finished. I have another queen size that is just waiting to be quilted also and I have no idea where I will find the time to do all of this. Of course, it would be easier if my sewing machine would cooperate, but it’s on the fritz again and I keep threatening to buy a new one. My husband just started a new job and I have been talking with a number of perspective clients of my own, as well, so hopefully I will be able to afford a new machine sometime soon.

That’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

