healthy habits = healthy life

Standard

I am very tempted to apologize for not posting in the past couple of weeks…but I won’t. The next verse in Proverbs 31 is verse 15:

 

“She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls.”

 

With the recent time change, getting up while it is still dark doesn’t ask that much of me, though it is still not easy. I don’t care if I have slept for 12 hours or 30 minutes, getting out of bed while it is dark outside is not easy. As I have confessed before, I struggle to stay motivated. Recently, I have found a very good source of motivation, namely, my husband and I have applied to be foster parents and are beginning the process of certification. So, when I am feeling lazy or struggling to get out of bed in the morning, I think of what life will be like when we have children living here. When I was growing up, I thought my mom loved to get up really early in the morning. She was always up before me and had breakfast ready before waking me. It never occurred to me that she got up early just so she could get some chores done before the kids were up; or that we would have been late if she hadn’t already had breakfast ready. I want to be that mom too, and I find it difficult to see myself in that role, because I can’t drag myself out of bed on time, how am I supposed to get kids up and ready for school? So, I have been trying to get up without grumbling and begin the day by helping my husband get off to work and not making him late by laying in bed and making it more difficult for him to get up.  But motivation is only the beginning… for any of you fellow lazy housewives: check out this website www.flylady.com. It’s a little corny, but it provides babysteps for those of us lacking motivation to start getting our houses in order. As she says, “Motivation is what gets you started, habits are what keep you going.”

 

Go forth and create good habits! 🙂

Leave a Reply

