Merchant Ships and grocery stores

Standard

She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.” Proverbs 31:14

 

This verse isn’t really that relevant to women today, with multiple grocery stores in every town and a convenience store on every corner, we don’t have to travel far to find food. So, today I am going to say: be thankful. Though, I personally like the idea of living a more self sustaining life and producing my own food. Even if I did, I would only go to my back yard to get it. Growing your own food can be a lot of work, but in the middle east, not a lot could be grown. In any one location, you would probably find one particular crop which thrived. Which meant that to provide a well-rounded diet for your family, you would have to walk miles to a market where other people, who had also walked miles, would be selling goods from other regions. I, personally, am thankful that is not the case today. I don’t fully support what has become of America’s food industry and the ethics or lack there-of, but I do understand how it developed into what it is today, so that we don’t have to be “merchant ships.” I am thankful I can provide food for my family and still get home in time to cook it.

Leave a Reply

