Picky, Picky, Picky

Standard

As you may have noticed, I didn’t post anything over the weekend. Not because, as my husband put it, this is a five-day-a-week blog, but because I was sick and didn’t feel like writing. I’m still not one hundred percent but definitely on the mend. All prayers are appreciated. I am very blessed to have a great husband to take care of me (which really means going to buy me medicine then letting me sleep all day while he takes care of the dogs…that is true love).

 

Today’s verse is from Proverbs chapter 31 verse 13: “She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.”

 

Now, for those of us “modern” women, wool and flax don’t mean much, but the message here still applies. Wool, as we all know, is used to make all kinds of clothes, particularly nice warm winter socks and sweaters…Flax is what linen is made from and it is a plant. These two things, wool and flax, would have been the source of most clothing at the time the book of Proverbs was written. And the women made most of the clothes. So, the ability to pick our the good wool from bad wool and good flax from bad flax is symbolic of a woman being able to provide clothes and supply for her family. The second part of the verse is what really hits me though. “[She]…works with eager hands.” I read this and ask myself is it true of me? Sure there are occasions when I get particularly excited about doing something and work eagerly, but is it a regular thing for me? Even right now, I decided to write this so I don’t have to tackle the mess accumulating on the floor in my bedroom. If I am honest, I only am “eager” about my work when it is something new. Like, I get a new piece of furniture and dust it everyday that week. Or we get a new dog and I brush and pet and walk her three miles everyday…then real life sets in and I get tired or something else comes along, and I am not so eager to walk that dog or dust that bookshelf. And this is where another, very well know, verse comes into play.

 

Colossians 3:23-24 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

 

I have a very hard time with this, and it is my goal this week to be more eager. Please pray with me for eagerness and excitement about the work we do as wives to serve God and our families.

Leave a Reply

