A Proverbs kinda woman

Standard

So, I titled this blog “confessions of a lazy housewife” and I meant it. I am lazy and generally unmotivated, however, I don’t intend to remain this way any longer than I have to. I really created this to give myself a “creative” outlet and to document my transformation from lazy to diligent and hard working. In the Bible, the book of Proverbs, chapter 31 provides a description of a “wife of noble character.” So, I am taking it verse by verse to see how I can apply it to my life and thus become the kind of wife and homemaker I want to be.

Today’s verse is Proverbs 31:11 “Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.”

To me, this means that my husband should be able to go through his day without worrying about anything at home, because he knows that I have it under control. He can have confidence that if something needs doing I will do it and he will have clean, wrinkle free pants to wear to work tomorrow, because he lacks nothing of value. Spending all day at home, I tend to get to a chore or task that would be easier if he were helping me, and put it off until he gets home. Then the temptation is to bombard him with my honey-do list as soon as he walks in the door. So, I try to have dinner on the table when he gets home for no other reason than it makes us sit and eat and talk and gives him a chance to unwind from the stress of his day job before I put him to work here at home. Also, as I am becoming better at managing the house and keep up with the daily tasks like laundry, I am also beginning to notice how his clothes never seem to make it all the way to the hamper. This never really bothered me before, when I too was leaving clothes strewn willy-nilly throughout the house. But, now that I am taking the time and effort to put my clothes up I expect him to magically do the same, which often leads to frustration on my part. I don’t think that he is excused from helping out at home just because he works full-time, but I want him to look forward to coming home and not be met at the door by myself complaining about the three socks and a pair of boxers I found under the bed that morning. I want him to be confident that I can handle things at home and that he WILL have clean clothes whether he wants to or not.

Leave a Reply

