Soaking Beans

Standard

From March 2, 2011:

 

In an effort to reduce our food costs I am experimenting with all kinds of new foods…or should I say really old foods which I have never tried to prepare before. First up today…black beans. Being the lazy and forgetful person that I am, I forgot to put them on to soak last night before bed. The beans are supposed to soak for 6-8 hours but mine are only going to get about 4 hours worth of soakage. Black beans and rice have been staple dishes for many different cultures all over the world for thousands of years. I have traveled in both the Americas and Africa, and in both places I was served black beans and rice daily. In Belize, “rice and beans” and “beans and rice” are two different dishes depending on which is on the bottom. Not only are beans eaten everyday, they are often consumed at more than one meal a day, and breakfast is not out of the question either.

Traveling for me is always somewhat iffy due to my digestive issues, however, black beans and rice seem to sit very well with me. That, and the fact that I can get a 2lb bag of black beans for less than $2, makes it an ideal candidate for our new food budget. Bar any extreme mishaps, I foresee beans and rice becoming a staple in the White household pantry very soon.

Leave a Reply

